Little Red Schoolhouse
The Little Red Schoolhouse, located one block east of the museum, was designed by High Point architect Louis Voorhees in 1930 as a separate annex to the Ray Street Elementary School at the corner of Montlieu and North Hamilton Streets. The Little Red Schoolhouse served as a one-room public school for first graders between 1931 and 1961. It served as the first High Point Museum from 1964 to 1971.
Some of the more than 37,000 objects in our collection are in need of conservation and preservation to make them ready for exhibits. We hope you will consider becoming a Preservation Partner to help underwrite the cost of the program.
The Blacksmith Shop, now outfitted as it would have been in the days John Haley was a practicing blacksmith, was moved to the grounds in 1970 from Davidson County. Live demonstrations are held a several times a month.
The High Point Museum presents a variety of living history demonstrations throughout the year including weaving, spinning, open hearth cooking, stenciling and corn husk doll making.
Hands On Learning
Delve deeper into High Point’s history by participating in programs that encourage further thought and exploration of our exhibits. Visitors of all ages will find something of interest during special programs and workshops held throughout the year. Hands-on-learning and more! Click here to find out the Museum's hours
Our exhibit examines the history of the relationship between the furniture industry and the people of High Point. It offers a unique perspective on the history of furniture manufacturing in our area. It includes interactive elements, video, photographs, memorabilia, machinery and furniture.
The High Point Museum is dedicated to sharing Greater High Point’s history, exploring the power of memory, providing perspective for current issues, and strengthening the sense of community. Our work is guided by our core values of connection, diversity, fun, and innovation.
Adjacent to the High Point Museum is our Historical Park which features three historic buildings including the John Haley House (1786), the Hoggatt House (1801) and a working blacksmith shop (1841). Centered among the three structures is a historically...Read More
There are numerous ways to become involved at the High Point Museum – visit us, participate in a program, volunteer, donate artifacts or donate money. Ways to Get involved with the High Point Museum Adopt an Artifact Join today! Donate to the Museum Be...Read More
10am - 4:30pm
Closed Sunday-Tuesday and
Historical Park Hours
Saturday 10am - 4pm
Admission is FREE!
1859 East Lexington Ave.
High Point, NC 27262
Online Contact Form